Article about CFS on CNN Website

Mind-Body: Inside Chronic Fatigue Syndrome:

http://pagingdrgupta.blogs.cnn.com/2011/02/23/mind-body-inside-chronic-fatigue/?hpt=Sbin

 

I just read this article and just reinforces what those of us managing the illness already know – much more research must be done.  What struck me were the comments – so many people suffering yet there are those that have easy answers and quick fixes.  I have tried many and there are no quick fixes.  Like many of the comments, I believe CFS is a virus and may be related to Epstein-Barr.  It goes into hibernation and resurfaces – perhaps triggered by stress or life changing events but not caused by them.  Bottom line: there are no easy answers but researchers need to move away from the mental aspect.  This is not a psychological disorder and it is not in my head.  It is real, painful, and debilitating.

I recently read somewhere on how easy it is to tell if you are suffering from depression or are depressed as a result of a specific problem – such as CFS or Fibromyalgia.  When a clinically depressed individual is asked what he/she would do if able to overcome the illness, an answer would not be forthcoming.  But if someone is depressed for a reason, the answer would be a long list of activities.  There is so much I want to do: complete my project and receive my M.Ed. in school counseling; train and certify my one year old lab to become a therapy dog; actively participate as a volunteer firefighter; walk more than 10 minutes; be able to do strenuous exercise; and the list goes on and on.  But I have to set limits, try not to push myself too much as it tends to sabotage progress towards improvement, and look forward to my next remission (which I hope comes soon and lasts a long time).

Published by

LBWebb Coach

Passionate, compassionate, opinionated.

Leave a Reply

