Resolution Free!

Happy 2012!

I want to briefly write about resolutions because I think they are foolish.  Lose weight, quit smoking, exercise more, blah blah blah.  Each year, people decide that this is the year of change but do they really want to make those changes or do they simply think they should because of how others may feel or because they don’t feel good about themselves.

The truth is, the calendar has no relevance to living and managing the life you want.  If  you want to do something, and you feel good then you are more likely to be successful.  When you are up and in a positive mood and your instinct tells you the time is right, you will be able to think clearly and increase your chances of achieving your dream of a healthier and happier life.

When I made the decision to move to Alaska to become a school counselor in remote villages, it was not a resolution that made me do it.  When the opportunity presented itself, I immediately took the opportunity because I knew in my gut it was the right thing to do.  I owned a house that wouldn’t sell, a house full of furniture, memorabilia, and junk that needed to be dealt with but I didn’t care. I also have chronic fatigue syndrome and fibromyalgia and would be driving thousands of miles with two dogs.

Eventual Iditarod Winner Lance Mackey arrives first in Nulato, AK

Nothing is insurmountable if it’s what you believe is the right thing to do.

It may be cold outside but our hearts are warm

When I met my husband in the tiny village of Nulato, Alaska, I was not so much resigned but accepting of living my life as a single woman with my dogs. But my instinct for the first time ever, told me that this was a man who was good for me.  After three years, we moved to his home state of  Texas, married and life for me is as it should be.

It wasn’t my resolution of 2011 to become a life coach for people with disabilities.  Coaching was in the back of my mind for years but it just didn’t seem doable. In fact, my ‘aha moment’ came one night while in the midst of a fibro-flare up.  I needed to take time off from completing my M.ED because I was unable to think straight, suffered low energy, and was functioning on auto-pilot rather than with purpose.  One night, it just hit me and I knew it was the perfect career choice.  I got busy marketing, talking to people, and writing.  I’ve had lots of experience in non-profit management, education, and even some corporate experience but knew nothing about starting my own business.  But I am finally working towards growing my dream career regardless of obstacles.

Of course nothing is easy and dreams are usually developed over time.  You will know when the time is right to move forward and act.  Your mood will be high, your thoughts clear, and you will follow your instincts.

Instead of making resolutions this year, consider your dreams and if you need to get your ‘head’ in the right place to move forward, I can help you move forward to strengthen your web of life.

Published by

LBWebb Coach

Passionate, compassionate, opinionated.

5 thoughts on “Resolution Free!”

    1. Great question, Carl. I fit God, religion, spirituality as part of personal development. In an earlier version of the web, I had personal development/spirituality and perhaps I should put it back in. The reason I removed it is that there are so many viewpoints on religion and spirituality that I believe it is part of an individual’s personal growth. Yet not everyone holds these beliefs as values so I erred on the side of inclusiveness. Does that make sense to you?

      1. Yes, Laura, I can see your point. And as a good example of what you said, I believe God plays an important part in all parts of the web.

        Thanks for this blog!

Leave a Reply

